Just because Singaporeans are always about food and more food isn’t it

Hello there, I’m Wee Ling from chopchopcurrypok and I’m delighted to be guest-blogging here today while Euphemia is off traipsing about in South Korea with her mommy. Here’s the first of my two installments, hope you like it !

IMG_8377

IMG_8379

I’ve been living in Hong Kong for almost a year already yet it still feels like I just arrived yesterday. And of course, how can I talk about Hong Kong without mentioning yum cha, the quintessential Hong Kong dining experience ?

I haven’t bothered going to the famous dim sum institutions with fantastic left-behind-in-time atmospheres (and grumpy waiters to boot) as I’m just not sure about getting into a dim sum cart kerfuffle and elbow-to-elbow jostling with fellow dinners on leisurely weekend afternoons. Tung Yuen Banquet turned out to be an accidental discovery walking distance from home after months of frequenting other places that were either pricey or a metro station away.

One can’t go wrong with usual dim sum staples and I have to admit I haven’t been able to stop myself from ordering the same congee (艇仔咸雞粥) everytime I’m there. Prices are reasonable, service slightly erratic. Plenty of crystal chandeliers and fancy gaudy gold in your face but the restaurant is always packed with Hongkongers, both young and old, on weekends so you really can’t go wrong with a place like that. Best to go there early at 11am-12pm to beat the queues !

Tung Yuen Banquet 東園酒家
G/F & 1/F, Hay Wah Building, 71-85 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
香港灣仔軒尼詩道71-85號熙華大廈地下及1樓
+852 2833 6116

4 thoughts on “Just because Singaporeans are always about food and more food isn’t it

Leave a Reply

