Transportation in Korea

Transportation in Korea is just like any other foreign country where language is a barrier or the uncertainty that creeps in BUT once you get over that fear, it’s actually a pretty convenient place to be at. Fear not, at most just alight, spot nice looking people on street, smile while asking for directions and at this point, an ADDRESS to which area you’ll like to be at is VERY important (so always keep a name card of your hotel with you all the time), the last thing to do is to thank them. Who knows, you might meet extremely nice and helpful people who would even take the effort to go with you just in case you get lost.

Yes, we met very nice people and I’m thankful for that! So to the random strangers that we’ve asked for directions, YOU ROCK!

——–

There are a total of 4 different kinds of buses available in Korea that serves different purposes. Blue, Green, Red and Yellow. I’d check out what the actual differences between these coloured buses and post in another entry instead.

The width of the subway trains are larger as compared with what we have in Singapore or even those in Thailand. It allows commuters to stand in 2 rows yet have ample space for people to even walk pass thus making it easier for those who do move in and not hog the door ways.

But as all country it has it’s ‘fiercer’ people who does jolt their ways into the subway trains, so do keep a look out. Generally it really depends on which area you’re in. But do expect a little jostle – makes the trip more authentic right?

Taxis are generally expensive in Korea but if you’re travelling in a group + if the distance isn’t that far (of course you have to make your own calculation in terms of distance through maps), my advice is to just take the cab instead. The good thing about taking the taxi is that it saves a whole lot of time trying to ask for directions and which exit you’re supposedly to be at.

Koreans take their bicycles really seriously! I see bike riders on a daily basis (but I was shy to take a photo of them because some of them were cute looking people) on the streets, even on subway trains. You see them everywhere! Which is a good thing, SAVE THE EARTH!

On our way to Hongik or also known as Hongdae area in the bus! Take note at the 2:20 mark where the nice lady’s voice makes the announcement of which bus stop we’re at. I must commend Korea for having such a feature especially in a country where language and reading is a major problem to tourist. All you need is a pair of ears to listen out on which area you’ll like to be at and listen up.

—–

This concludes photos taken on film by the Olympus MJU II for the Korean trip to which the next post onwards would be solely digital shots from the Canon G10. I had fun shooting on film but I guess I have to be totally stocked up the next time I travel and I’ve also learnt to work with the camera.

6 thoughts on “Transportation in Korea

  1. alisha 25/08/2011 / 1:49 PM

    These are really beautiful shots. Ah I miss Korea!
    I’ve been dying to get my hands on an Olympus MJU II. I have some sort of version of it but it’s the f/3.5 :/

    • Euphemia 01/09/2011 / 9:51 AM

      Thanks!! I miss Korea too – though it was my first time there, I kinda liked the lifestyle. Cosmopolitan yet they have nice parks/areas to rest & relax the day away.

      I think the Olympus MJU is a pretty good investment – a hassle free, point & shoot and the lenses are surprisingly not too bad. Go buy from Clubsnap or Lomotion (forums). :D

      Do you have a blog too?

  2. greenteafields@gmail.com 17/08/2011 / 5:18 PM

    i really like that they have all the stops listed out so you can follow the travel route and listen out for the announcements. luckily i know the korean alphabet so it was just a matter of matching the sounds! :)

    singapore should totally learn this trick from the koreans!

    • Euphemia 01/09/2011 / 9:55 AM

      YES! I totally 101% adore this feature! I’m a bus ride junkie – get to see more, experience more and you can just drop at any stop if you feel like it.

      Thankfully for technology, I was busy translating the hangul words on the phone and then listening out for it.

      TOTALLY! Sometimes I wonder what am I really paying for while I take my transport to work on a daily basis. Hahahah! Though Korea might not have the newest buses, BUT their service rocks!

  3. sluethi 12/08/2011 / 5:52 PM

    I traveled around Korea for a bit more than three weeks and although I wasn’t able to figure out the alphabet or couuldn’t wrap my head around just one word of Korean, I never had an issue to find my way around. Patience, being nice and smiling a lot can do wonders.

    • Euphemia 12/08/2011 / 5:55 PM

      I totally agree! I personally have met nice people!

Leave a Reply

