Korea 2011 – Day 02

After a long break from updating the holiday post of Day 01 in Korea, I’m back with Day 02 of my experience in this wonderful country!

So Day 02 in Korea started out at 11AM by heading over to Yoido Full Gospel Church located by the Han River at Yeouido which is an island itself, so the journey over to this area is noticeably longer in time, crossing over a few major train lines. Definitely took more than an hour from where we stayed at Jongno, thankful for the interesting sights that got me fascinated.

Day 02

Simple yet such a dynamic church that preaches about the Three-fold blessing (the blessing of the spirit, soul and body).

Day 02

Day 02

Day 02 Day 02

Hearing Pastor David Yonggi Cho himself preach, once again made me remember the faith and trust I have for the Lord!

Day 02

I was just wondering what’s the sitting capacity of 1 service like this?
As this was the ‘main’ service that Pastor Cho preaches personally while the rest of the other services were done by the associate pastors, so that explains the packed congregation.

Day 02

I was a little excited when I saw the various camera crew around! Hehehe!

Day 02 Day 02

Hang out a little while by the Yeouido Park before we headed off to have a hearty lunch of Samgyupsal!!

Day 02

Day 02 Day 02

Day 02

Made new friends that Kellie was also hosting at the same time that we were in Korea. It was nice having extra friends during this trip + they were FUN people, I LIKE!

Korea 2011

Korea 2011

One of the few highlights of this trip was to FINALLY got our hands on KRISPY KREME(sssssss) and yes, this was Mom’s first bite into the yummy doughnuts that I could have it all day long!!

Day 02

Day 02

Day 02 Day 02

So I was told that due to the space constraints, Korean drivers do park their vehicles at ANY available possible space, even if it means to ‘mount curbs’!! *salute*

Day 02

Day 02

Bus routes are clearly stated on each bus stop and thus making travelling around easier despite not knowing how to read Hangul.

Day 02 Day 02

A meal that I’ve been waiting for as long as I can ever remember being introduced to Korean food! Yeap, SAMGYUPSAL which is also known as  BBQ Pork! A highly recommended meal that I would say for any Korea trip! Those juicy succulent pork that is filled with flavours while you wrap them in lettuce – PERFECT combination of soft + crunchy!! Ooooo!

This particular place that we went to called 흑돈가 (Heukdonga) is famous for it’s black pork which originates from Jeju Island – it’s softer and of course YUMMY-ier as compared to the usual pork!! Purely writing this post has already gotten me all drooling and dreaming of the taste.

Day 02

Day 02

Totally appreciative of those pipes that sucks up all the fumes + smell emitted during the BBQ process. Even the chinese believes that food taste even tastier when it’s cooked with coal, yes, this has been proven even here in Korea.

Day 02

Let the feasting begin…

Day 02

Very nice unnis would come over and help us mend the pork just in case we were noobish or too engrossed in conversation and might have ended up with burnt pork instead!!

Day 02

Rounds of Makgeoli (Yup, yet again!!). You cannot get sick or Makgeoli, can you?

Day 02 Day 02

Nice banchan that came along with the orders. I especially like this spicy tofu that was cold and tasty.

Day 02

YUMS!! *faints* The wrap could be made up of green leafs like Lettuce, Perilla, Mustard Greens or anything else. I particularly like how the perilla leaf that has a slight minty taste + the juicy meat goes perfectly well together. Mind you, not everyone has a liking for these leaves but you’ll grow to like the taste after a few chews.

Day 02

After parting ways with newly made friends, Mom and myself headed back to Yeouido Park to enjoy the rest of the evening.

Day 02

It was starting to get cold, not that I mind, but the cold sea breeze made me just want to sit somewhere with a hot cup of coffee.

Day 02

True enough while walking around, we found an outdoor concert that was about to start. With my very limited K-Pop knowledge (then), I have no idea who was singing but with the massive crowd, I believe it should be someone popular?

Day 02

Funky lift experience!! :D

Day 02

Obligated tourist shot with MRT lines.

Day 02

Day 02

Trains are generally wider as compared to what we have in Singapore which makes moving around even while standing easier. Yes, I DO NOT need to have someone breathe down my neck!!

Day 02

Who knew this little fellow would be my saviour in time to come during the trip!! That would be on another story!

Day 02

Nice way to end Day 02 with sights of my eye candy!!

Day 02

Day 01 | Day 02 | Day 03.1 | Day 03.2

3 thoughts on “Korea 2011 – Day 02

Leave a Reply

