Korea 2011 – Day 03 (Part 1)

After a good 3 days of getting used to this wonderful country, Korea, I’m slowly beginning to fall in love with the sights and flavours on what it has to offer – a little spicy and memorable! I’d be splitting Day 3’s worth of sights into 2 post as it’s too image heavy!

Breakfast to start the day off – Nongshim ramyeon + Maxim’s coffee style!

Day 03

Off we head to Gyeongbokgung Palace (경복궁) located at “Gyeongbokgung Palace Station” #Exit 5.

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03 Day 03

Opening time of the area is from 07:00 AM – 10:00 PM.

National Palace Museum of Korea – Closed every MONDAY
Gyeongbokgung Palace – Closed every TUESDAY
The National Folk Museum of Korea – Closed every TUESDAY

Day 03

A stretch of stairs awaits as you climb your way up!

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Entry price is KRW 3,000 but do look out for a combined ticket price of 10,000 (If I didn’t remember wrongly) if you plan to visit more than 2 palaces located within Seoul. That ticket would allow you access to the 5 palaces (Changdeokgung Palace (including Huwon, Secret Garden), Changgyeonggung Palace, Deoksugung Palace, Gyeongbokgung Palace) and Jongmyo Shrine) + it’s valid for ONE whole month upon purchase! So definitely keep a lookout for that!

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

I don’t know if this is the usual height of the guards in the past but I’m very sure they are HUGE looking – Mom and myself is around 161cm, so yes, you can do the proportion breakdown on your own. Ps, we didn’t dare to stand near him either, he has this fierce aura, okay lah, I coward, that explains the gap between us!

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Signs of SPRING!

Day 03

I really mean that everything I see is such a scenic worthy view – mountains, trees, water + good air! This is especially interesting for an urban person who grew up in concrete walls!

Day 03

See, this is what I mean, I wished I could PAINT/DRAW something like this! This is located at the courtyard itself, which brings me to think, life in a palace back then isn’t that bad of an idea – at least you can get to enjoy such wonderful views while you slog like crazy.

Day 03

Day 03

It’s my very first time seeing a cherry blossom flower in person which got me very excited since I’ve read seen it only in storybooks or films. I can only describe it as an alluring flower, a very sweet danity one too! Trust me, I’m not a huge fan of the colour pink but surprisingly I’m attracted to it!

Day 03

MUST TAKE PHOTO WITH FLOWER!!

Day 03 Day 03

Day 03

Made new little cute friends!!

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Inner courtyard

Day 03

Day 03

Just had to snap a photo Korean policemen (경찰)

Day 03

Then the highlight of visiting Gyeongbokgung has got to be the changing of guards that is displayed hourly from 10 AM – 3 PM, so don’t miss it.

Day 03

Day 03

Goodbye and hello.

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Colours of the flags.

Day 03

‘Fashion statement’ shoes, I like!

Day 03

Here’s what to expect during the changing of guards ceremony.

Be prepared to spend a few hours here as there is just too many courts to explore and sadly we had to move on but what greeted us was just simply too beautiful and it’s moments like this that I wished Singapore is a country with 4 seasons!!

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 03

Day 01 | Day 02 | Day 03.2

Leave a Reply

