Lovin’ Lovely

So Min who has just graduated from ‘The New School’ in Fine Arts and was back in Singapore for a short ‘homecoming’ before she starts selling her life away to the workforce! Our friendship dates back to almost 20 years ago but it still feels just like yesterday that we were neighbours. After umpteen times of unsuccessfully trying to schedule a meet up every time she comes back, I’m so glad we made this meet up a success and it was awesome! I couldn’t wait to bring her around the Arab Street area.

Fika Swedish Cafe and Bristo definitely had the good and bad, but most probably wouldn’t get my 2nd visit unless there is a call for it.

Lovin' Lovely

Min’s Toast Skagen – Fika style ($18.50) was great! The smoked salmon + mayonnaise was a perfect harmony that brought out the flavours of each other. Not to mention that the platter was huge and generous, no less!

Lovin' Lovely

While my Tunnbrödsrulle ($18.90) was so disappointing! The swedish thin bread (wrap) was hard, the taste was just ketchup and potato, not quite what I would have expected especially for the price I paid.

Lovin' Lovely

All the best in that journey of job searching! May we be HAPPY people!!

Lovin' Lovely

Since I was in the neighbourhood and have read so much about this place, Maison Ikkoku I went (alone as Min had to leave for another appointment)!

Lovin' Lovely

There is something magical about wood and warm lights = PERFECT!

Lovin' Lovely

I love the wall treatment for the interior that gives off this raw finish! Best way to enjoy a cup of coffee with no form of disturbances.

Lovin' Lovely Lovin' Lovely

Being spoilt for choice at the selection of cakes, I went for the conventional (Yes, I am quite boring) but equally tasteful, Carrot Cake! NO REGRETS! The moist cake with a tinge of sweetness (correct me if I’m wrong about the sweetness part as I was having a bad ass cough that affected my taste buds) fills your mouth with every bite! I like how generous the nuts were in the cake. Anyone knows if it’s baked by Maison Ikkoku themselves or ?

I had to give their mains a miss this time round but now that is another reason why I should come back again!! Check out their menu on what they have to offer!

Lovin' Lovely

But of course, the highlight of my visit, Coffee! I can’t quite get the correct way of describing the blend of Maison’s coffee but it’s definitely not your usual kind either, by usual I mean coffee chain’s standard. It was smooth and that distintive coffee after taste is one that leaves you wanting more of it.

Lovin' Lovely

Lovin' Lovely

Words of Wisdom, well said!!

Lovin' Lovely

Tables were actually made out of cabinet doors!

Lovin' Lovely

On a side note, I *APPLAUD* cafes that serves water at absolutely NO extra cost! Not that I’m being a miser when it comes to paying for water (The most ridiculous was once when I had to pay $1.00 for a glass) but it’s these additional service that makes a cafe experience more pleasant.

Lovin' Lovely

—–

20 Kandahar Street Singapore 198885
T +65 6294 0078
http://www.maison-ikkoku.net/

—–

Leave a Reply

