I Still Love You

I STILL LOVE YOU
Performed by: Grace Ong, Hazel Tan, John Rajan Nair
Music by: Galvin Sng
Lyrics by: Tan Siang Yu
Music produced, arranged & performed by: Rich Ho

They say you’re cramped
No place to stand
The queue’s so long
And things go wrong
They say you’ve changed
No more the same
You are not okay

I say it’s true
Yet I still love you
I know you’re pressed
Sometimes a mess
But deep inside my heart
You’re still the same

I still love you
Love the way you make me smile
I love you even when you’re out of style
I still love you
Loved you for the longest while
My love for you will never grow out of style

Open our eyes
Take a look around
Open our hearts
There’s joy to be found
In the little things
And the smile that brings
You’re still okay

Our families
And the friends we meet
The ties that bind
Make our roots so deep
And right inside my heart
You’re still my home

I still love you
Love the way you make me smile
I love you even when you’re out of style
I still love you
Loved you for the longest while
My love for you will never grow out of style

Today marks my nation, Singapore’s 47th birthday. I must say it has been quite a journey for this country to have achieved what it has till date – wonderful infrastructure, safe environment, (recently) made another mark in the Olympics and many other reasons to celebrate how Singapore has grown. Don’t get me wrong, I have my fair share of complains (sometimes on a daily basis) but the song above truly explains this heart of mine when it comes to describing Singapore. It is still a place I grew up in, a place where friendships were made and also a place that gave me endless opportunities to grow up in. I guess no place like Singapore that has provided me a proper education and even shaped me to the kind of person I am right now – thoughts wise. Good/bad, it’s all up to individually to think, but I’d say good, for that matters.

So Singapore, truly, even when you’re out of style, I’d still love you!
Happy 47th Birthday and to the many more wonderful years ahead, may you be a country that shines even in the darkest times.

*Check out what Galvin Sng has to say about his journey when he was approached to compose this piece of music.

Leave a Reply

