Carpenter and Cook

I decided to only blog about Carpenter and Cook after a few more visits to this quaint place as I didn’t get to try all the ‘must haves’ during my other visits, but now with a better idea of how the place is like, I’d have a go at a post of my views on it. For the many, including myself, was initially complaining about the prices of how expensive the pastries/food cost but after finding out what ingredients and how much EFFORT has been put into baking these lovelies, I changed my perspective toward that. I’ve been told by a friend who works there about the crazy hours that the chef has to put in to create each and every item sold but of course the bosses and staff would be more than willing to chat up with you, so ask away.

Carpenter and Cook

The Queen of Heart’s Tarts – Passionfruit Meringue ($6.20) which has been crazily raved by many, and I know why! Each bite was filled flavours and they are not stingy about it!

Carpenter and Cook

The Queen of Hearts’ Tarts – Lemon Cream ($6.20) had us either loving it or disliking it. To friends, they describe the flavour of this as BABY’S MILK (FYI, the person who commented on this is a father!!). There is undoubtedly a great amount of milk based. So this is something to take note of when ordering this, but for me, I would say that it taste better as time goes by, to each person’s preferences.

Carpenter and Cook

The Queen of Hearts’ Tarts – Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel ($6.20) is one word YUMS if you’re a chocolate fan!

Carpenter and Cook

The White Rabbit’s Carrot Cake ($7.00) which was recommended by Lisa (a friend that works there) which I did not regret listening at all. This isn’t quite the usual cake but it’s filled with nuts, raisins and I think some orange/lemon as I tasted something zesty (Please correct me if I’m wrong).

Carpenter and Cook

It’s such a beautiful place filled with furbished/unfurnished antiques that you can actually buy back if any of the pieces catches your eye, just ask and you’ll have a better idea of what’s for sale or not. I love how warm the place feels and yes, I have a thing for big long tables, makes the cafe experience very communal. Looking forward to make another trip here and this time I will get the homemade jams which looks equally YUMMY!

Carpenter and Cook

I’m glad my friends enjoyed this place as much as I did. Let’s go visit more cafes!!

JXHX

—–

19 Lorong Kilat, #01-06, Singapore 598120
6463 3648 / info [at] carpenterandcook.com
Tue – Fri: 12:00-22:00 Sat: 10:00-22:00 Sun: 10:00-19:00

http://www.facebook.com/carpenterandcook

Leave a Reply

